Our Mixed Media Collabrative Group met and played with gelatin prints last month. What a creative process this is…it is monoprinting made easy …I love the simplicity to it and the easy cleanup! We started by making our own gelatin printing plates ahead of time and then bringing them to the meeting along with supplies :

then away we went on the creative process of laying acrylic paint down with a breyer and pressing stencils in, found objects, rubber stamps or just drawing into the paint with tools…

 

I decided to print some to use for an ATC swap that was coming up with the theme of “bird nests”. After printing I went back in and doodled which has become one of my favorite things to do after the Strathmore workshop of ย Traci Bautista.

 

 

 

For more information and wonderful gelatin printing inspiration check out my friend Patty’s work. She has done some wonderful work with her pieces including printing on fabric. It was a very fun experiment.

PS – I’ve kept my gelatin plate alive and well in the refrigerator in a ziplock bag…not sure how long it will last…so far a few weeks!

